City Officials, 2021-2022

City Officials, 2021-2022

Lord Mayor

Vincent Keaveny

Alderman for Farringdon Within; past master of the Solicitors Company

The Lord Mayor heads up the Corporation of the City of London and also acts as ambassador for the nation’s financial and professional services.


Caroline Al-Beyerty

Chief Commoner

Simon Duckworth – Councillor, Bishopsgate Ward

In a role first introduced in 1444 the Chief Commoner (CC) is elected by the whole of the Court Of Common Council.

He or she keeps an eye on training and development of councillors and also takes the lead in Corporation hospitality.

The CC represents Common Councillors in terms of rights and privileges but also ensures integrity and good practice.


Paul Double


Alison Gowman – Alderman, Dowgate ward; Deputy Master, Plaisterers.

Nicholas Lyons – Alderman, Tower ward; member of the Merchant Taylors

The post of Sheriff is a necessary pre-requisite for becoming Lord Mayor.

Historically the sheriffs collected taxes and enforced justice.

Today the sheriffs attend the Lord Mayor at official occasions in the City and all over the world. A sheriff though, still attends the Old Bailey when a trial is in progress.

Town Clerk and Chief Executive

John Barradell

Common Cryer/Common Sergeant

Richard Marks


Tim Rolph

City Marshal

Philip Jordan